Home » “My Sister, the Serial Killer” by Oyinkan Braithwaite
Two Women Facing Each Other Holding White and Blue Petaled Flower

“My Sister, the Serial Killer” by Oyinkan Braithwaite

My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite is a gripping and darkly humorous novel about two sisters, Ayoola and Korede, and the lengths Ayoola will go to in order to protect her secret. This novel is a witty exploration of family dynamics, morality, and loyalty.

Plot Summary

My Sister, the Serial Killer follows the story of two sisters living in Lagos, Nigeria. Ayoola is a beautiful and charming woman who has a habit of killing her boyfriends whenever the relationship takes a turn for the worse.

Korede, the older and more pragmatic sister, is the one tasked with disposing of the bodies and covering up Ayoola’s crimes. As the novel progresses, we witness Korede’s moral dilemma as she struggles to choose between loyalty to her sister and doing the right thing.


The two main characters in My Sister, the Serial Killer are Ayoola and Korede. Ayoola is the beautiful and reckless younger sister who is capable of killing without remorse. Korede is the older, more level-headed sister who loves her sister but is increasingly struggling with the moral implications of her actions.

The novel also features a cast of supporting characters, including Ayoola’s various victims, Korede’s co-workers, and the love interest who threatens to expose Ayoola’s secret.

Writing Style

Oyinkan Braithwaite’s writing style is sharp and witty, with a dark sense of humor. She expertly builds tension and keeps the reader hooked with her fast-paced plot. Her characters are vividly drawn and her dialogue is believable and realistic.


My Sister, the Serial Killer is a gripping and darkly humorous novel that explores the complex relationship between two sisters. With its witty writing style and morally complex characters, this novel will keep readers hooked until the very end.

More Reading

Post navigation

“American Psycho” by Bret Easton Ellis

“The Testaments” by Margaret Atwood

“Recursion” by Blake Crouch

“The Lost Man” by Jane Harper